Rad Reading – March (Kai)

In March, I read the book Squirm by Carl Hiaasen. This book is a realistic fiction book about a teenage boy named Billy who is new to school. Billy never tries to make friends because he always ends up moving. Just like how his mysterious dad moved out when Billy was little. However, after all these years Billy finally has a chance to meet him. After meeting his dad’s new family he has many questions about him and doesn’t know what to think of the man. What do you think of Billy’s dad. Read to reveal what Billy’s dad is like.

If I were to give this book a rating, I would give it a four. Squirm is a great book to read if you liked Hoot or Chomp (Also written by carl Hiaasen). The reason I only gave Squirm a four is because it wasn’t a book I couldn’t put down. In other words, it wasn’t as amazing as Hoot or Chomp but still pretty good.

My favorite character in this book is Billy. This is because of Billy’s forgiving and understanding nature. I can’t think of anyone who would just forgive someone who walked out their life when they were little in only a few days after reuniting with them. Carl Hiaasen writes, “I should probably be angrier than I feel, but I admit there’s a huge sense of relief to be done with the first face-to-face moment, as crazy as it was.” (Page #106-107) This icee of evidence proves the fact that Billy is forgiving and doesn’t want to stay mad at his dad.

My favorite quote is, “‘Yeah,’ I said. ‘Scary crazy.’” (Page #264) At first glance this may not look like a funny quote but the quote before this is “‘But let me tell you, there’s some crazy-ass people out there.’” (Page #264) In the book Billy stops the bad guy from escaping by putting a rattle snake in the helicopter. This is significant because the officer doesn’t know who did it but Billy does.

One thought on “Rad Reading – March (Kai)”

  1. You don’t need to put your name in the title. It is connected to your account so the reader (me) knows it is by you. 😁

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *