Rad Reading – February (Kai)

In February, I read the book Taken by Erin Bowman. In the book Taken, the main character named Gray lives in a town called Claysoot. Circling Claysoot is a wall, many have climbed and came back dead. Since then no one dared to climb the wall as it was suicide. In Claysoot there are no men. The source behind this is the heist. Every time a boy hits their eighteenth birthday they disappear. Some people have accepted the heist but others have tested it. Gray mother was one of whom decided to test the heist. After Gray’s ‘older brother’, Blaine is taken by the Heist, Gray finds the truth. One that his family was hiding from him to help save other boys. Will Gray go out for answers or will he wait for the heist to take him.

I highly recommend this book to everyone. If I could give this book a rating it would be an easy five stars. This book has many twists and turns, in a way it is like Avatar. In this book you will want and crave answers.

My favorite character in this book is Blaine. In this book, Blaine shows kindness instead of hate and chooses to think before he says something. I don’t know how the main character, Gray, would live without Blaine being their for him and cooling his flame when Gray gets in fights.on page #10 Blaine says, “‘I don’t give a crap if whether she cares about me or not. I’d rather know why my kid brother is beating up a girl half his size. You okay?’ he asks.” This is one of many examples of Gray needing Blaine in his life.

My favorite quote is on page #326, “‘Oh, quit your whining,’ Bo says. ‘She shot you with a rubber bullet and it was necessary.’” I like this quote because the main character, Gray, made it sound so dramatic. He thought his arm was on fire and didn’t get up until someone came to help him up. It must have been embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *