Rad Reading – April

This month I read the book Scat by Carl Hiaasen. Scat is about a boy named Nick and his super strict biology teacher named Mrs. Starch. Ever since the field trip, Mrs. Starch is nowhere to be seen. After their encounter with their wacky substitute teacher, Nick and Marta want Mrs. Starch back, along with the truth of what actually happened during the field trip. Will Nick and Marta dig out the truth and save Mrs. Starch or will they be lost like their teacher.

If I were to rate this book, I would rate it a five. This book was amazing and certainly gives competition to the book Hoot, another amazing book written by Carl Hiaasen. I would totally recommend this book to people who liked Hoot or Flush because this book might be just as good!

My favorite character in this book is Nick. In this book Nick is brave and kind. According to the text Nick’s best friend Marta says, “You’re gonna fall and kill yourself!” This proves that Nick is amazingly brave by climbing a giant tree with the mother panther staring straight into his eyes also while holding her kitten. If I were given the opportunity to do something like this I would pass without hesitation.

My favorite quote can be found on page #357-358, “‘Apparently Mr. McBride had called up begging for money. His dad got so ticked off that he phoned the police and gave them the address of the hotel. The room number, too.’” I liked this quote because Drake McBride deserved to be arrested after what he did. First of all Drake McBride has always depended on his father for money, he does nothing and lives a luxurious life. For example, when they found Drake McBride, he was found with a goatee and a fake name in a fancy hotel. Thats why I liked this quote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *